Shape Shifter

You’re a shape shifter leaving me confused        
Showing me your pretend wounds
Trying to figure out which version I’ll meet next         
I hate to say this but for you there’s nothing left, not even respect      
Every time I meet you you’re a different man
This wasn’t supposed to happen, it wasn’t a part of the plan       
One moment  you’re a lion shielding, protecting me                                                   
The next you’re ready to destroy everything you see         
One day you’re a wounded deer asking for help with love in your eyes,
and suddenly you are a porcupine with piercing arrows of your own in the form of lies         
I refuse to be that girl this sick game I refuse to play          
After tonight I won’t ever ask you to stay
All the bridges we built are burnt their gone                      
I’m a shape shifter now changing my very form             
I was a hopeless flower shaking in your arms                       
But tonight im gonna grow wings, fly away, so you can cause me no harm

Leave a comment